In Georgia, the DUI law sets a minimum that the fine must be. That’s normally $300 minimum. Oftentimes prosecutors and courts will increase that to 500, 800, or $1000. But because DUI is a misdemeanor in the state of Georgia, the maximum a fine can be is $1000. I started my career, for almost 10 years I was a prosecutor. I’ve done dozens of DUI trials. I bring that now to my work at the Claiborne Firm as a defense attorney, specifically on criminal law matters. At the Claiborne Firm, when it comes to criminal defense, your freedom matters most.